Department of Chemistry

Chemistry is a rapidly growing discipline bringing new discoveries theories, and scientific applications that ultimately benefit society. It is necessary for practicing chemists to be proficient in a wide range of chemical disciplines in order to address the important problems that lie at the interface of chemistry and closely related disciplines.

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura offers courses that incorporate the most recent advances in the discipline and provide students with a strong foundation in the fundamentals of chemistry and a choice of more specialized optional courses which cover a wide range of topics to suit their future goals. Academic programs in chemistry are designed to meet the needs of the country and make the students prepared to seek employment with confidence.

Since 2004, the department of Chemistry offers the subject of Polymer Science and Technology also as a subject for the general degree. The course consists of course work, practical classes and a research component geared towards training Polymer Scientists/Technologists, Quality Control Officers, Plant Managers, etc. needed for industries dealing with plastic and rubber products.

The vision of the department is to contribute to national development, scientific advancement and professional development by providing up to date training and opportunities to students to become efficient and successful professionals.

Course Syllabi

* Chemistry-General Degree

* Chemistry-Special Degree

* Polymer Science and Technology-General Degree


Register online now for the 2016/2017 M.Sc. Degree/Postgraduate Diploma in Industrial Analytical Chemistry


Four Chemistry honors degree students (L to R) Miss. K. L. J. Weerarathna, Miss. A. U. W. Dissanayake, Miss. M. C. B Ariyawansa and Mr. R. A. N. P. Ranasinghe have received “Best Performance Awards” securing the highest GPA from the B.Sc. Chemistry special degree (honors) program.

Organic Chemistry - Mr. R. A. N. P. Ranasinghe (AS2012194)

Inorganic Chemistry - Miss. M. C. B Ariyawansa (AS2012013)

Physical Chemistry - Miss. K. L. J. Weerarathna (AS2012251)

Analytical Chemistry - Miss. A. U. W. Dissanayake (AS2012052)

The Department of Chemistry will be happy to hear from individuals intended in joining us with specialization in the following area: Inorganic Chemistry. Please write to Head of the Department for more details. Any recruitment made will be only after formal advertisement of vacancies. http://www.sjp.ac.lk/web/?cat=13 

Download Faculty Prospectus! Applied Science Faculty Prospectus 2014 - 2015

M.Phil. Opportunity

B. Sc. Chemistry (Special) / Industrial Chemistry (Honors) Degree Students' Eligible List 2018 (AS2015 Group)
AS2015065 GTV FonsekaCHE GPA = 3.900
AS2015255 HMSN WalgampayaCHE GPA = 3.900
AS2015284 WMRT WijetungaCHE GPA = 3.865
AS2015167 KTHPAL PeirisCHE GPA = 3.855
AS2015015 MTU AmarasingheCHE GPA = 3.820
AS2015252 KVNN VitharanaCHE GPA = 3.820
AS2015077 IL HettigeCHE GPA = 3.815
AS2015131 SL LavankumarCHE GPA = 3.810
AS2015582 JD WanniarachchiCHE GPA = 3.795
AS2015020 SADSC AppuhamyCHE GPA = 3.790
AS2015138 MLC MadhushaCHE GPA = 3.790
AS2015367 LG EdirisingheCHE GPA = 3.770
AS2015262 WKD WeerasingheCHE GPA = 3.765
AS2015110 KH KavindiCHE GPA = 3.755
AS2015233 EIU SoyzaCHE GPA = 3.755
AS2015511 BBR PereraCHE GPA = 3.735
AS2015145 WMBH MahaulpathaCHE GPA = 3.710
AS2015007 WDGG AbhayagunarathnaCHE GPA = 3.705
AS2015163 KMPPK PamunuwaCHE GPA = 3.685
AS2015159 AHF NimraCHE GPA = 3.675
AS2015014 DWPU AmarasenaCHE GPA = 3.660
AS2015117 SH KumarageCHE GPA = 3.660
AS2015086 JASP JayakodyCHE GPA = 3.655
AS2015216 SC SenarathnaCHE GPA = 3.650
AS2015109 KDN KaushalyaCHE GPA = 3.635
AS2015112 KC KolamunnaCHE GPA = 3.635
AS2015129 KPS LakshikaCHE GPA = 3.630
AS2015146 RKL MaheshikaCHE GPA = 3.625
AS2015150 CM MapalagamaCHE GPA = 3.620
AS2015280 STN YasawinCHE GPA = 3.615
AS2015562 TPP SumanasekeraCHE GPA = 3.615
AS2015012 MKSC AlwisCHE GPA = 3.600
AS2015231 KDPU SiriwardhaneCHE GPA = 3.600

B. Sc. Polymer Chemistry (Honors) Degree Students' Eligible List 2018 (AS2015 Group)
AS2015117 SH KumaragePST GPA = 3.900
AS2015215 SGWK SenarathPST GPA = 3.870
AS2015159 AHF NimraPST GPA = 3.850
AS2015064 AD FernandopullePST GPA = 3.815
AS2015264 NT WeerasinghePST GPA = 3.770
AS2015116 MADD KumaraPST GPA = 3.720
AS2015131 SL LavankumarPST GPA = 3.715
AS2015045 GKD De SilvaPST GPA = 3.680
AS2015106 DKDI KanchanaPST GPA = 3.675
AS2015249 PGI UthpalaniPST GPA = 3.675
AS2015284 WMRT WijetungaPST GPA = 3.670