Student and Academic Counsellors

Student Counsellors

The Faculty of Applied Sciences provides the service of two professional Student Counsellors to assist students to resolve their psychological and personal problems. They provide one-on-one guidance and can be contacted personally at the Faculty and via emails and telephone.

Counseling Unit of FAS has Two Professional Counselors to Help with Student Wellbeing:

Ishan Edirisuriya

Mr. Ishan Edirisuriya ishan_ediri@yahoo.com 071 4018383

rasika-manohari

Ms. Rasika Manohari rasikamanohari2013@gmail.com 071 4306249

Academic Advisors

The Academic Counsellors assist students of the Faculty of Applied Sciences to make educational and career decisions. They also advise on the selection of subject combinations during the orientation period, selection of honours degree programmes, and participation in extracurricular activities.

Program Name Email

Botany

dimuthu-sm Dr. (Mrs.) Dimuthu Manamgoda

dsmanamgoda@sci.sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 1776609
isuru-sm Dr. Isuru Kariyawasam isurufasi@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 8406503

Chemistry

padumadasaProf. (Mrs.) Chayanika Padumadasa

chayanika@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 4492911

mahesh-karunarathneDr. Mahesh Karunaratne

mck@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 6699022

Computer Science

dilumpereraMr. Dilum Perera

dilum@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 3267187

suranitisseraDr. (Ms.) Surani Tissera

surani@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 1882189

Forestry and Environmental Science

dahamDr. Daham Jayawardana

daham@sci.sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 077 8802631

chamilapathiranaDr. (Mrs.) Chaamila Pathirana

chaamila@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 077 7871518

Food Science and Technology

isuruDr. Isuru Wijesekara

isuruw@sci.sjp.ac.lk
tel: 076 8237800

surajisenanayakeDr. (Mrs.) Suraji Senanayake

suraji@sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 077 3017709

Mathematics

nalinganegodaDr. Nalin Ganegoda

naleen@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 4478687

Applied Mathematics

 thanujaDr. (Mrs.) Thanuja Harshani

thanujap@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 077 1943881

Physics

wanniarachchiDr. Indika Wanniarachchi

iwanni@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 3595046

kandeepanDr. (Mrs.) S. Kandeepan

ssivayini@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 076 8757110

Polymer Science

Senior Prof. Laleen Karunanayake

laleen@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 0718064044

etampawalaDr. Thusitha Etampawala

tetampa@sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 076 6911980

Sport Science and Technology

pereraDr. (Mrs.) Piumi Perera

piumiri@sci.sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 077 5685760

adhikariMrs. Chandima. Adikari

chandima@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 8230785

Statistics

diasMr. P. Dias

dias@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 7826493

thalagalaDr. (Ms.) Thiyanga Talagala

ttalagala@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 076 3135013

manjulapereraMrs. Manjula Perera

manjula@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 077 6367955

Zoology

mahaulpathaProf. (Mrs.) Darshani Mahaulpatha mahaulpatha@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 8251516

idroosDr. (Mrs.) Sumaiya Idroos

sumaiyaidroos@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 075 9288327

Biology

dinithipeirisProf. (Mrs.) Dinithi Peiris

dinithi@sci.sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 071 4018537

sachiniDr. (Ms.) Sachini Fernando

sachini@sci.sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 071 7692550

Extended Degree

pahan-godakumburaProf. (Miss.) Pahan Godakumbura

pahanig@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 076 6211647

Economics

prashanthiProf. (Mrs.) Prasanthi Gunawardana

prasanth@sjp.ac.lk
tel: 071 4166159

Management

kamalDr. Kamal Gnanaweera

kamal@sjp.ac.lk 
tel: 071 0364040

Genetics and Molecular Biology

hiruni-harischandraDr. (Mrs.) Hiruni Harischandra

hirunih@sci.sjp.ac.lk
tel: 076 4985603

Other useful contact information for students:

The help line for students: 072 6885344 Director of student welfare:

mahesh-fernando Dr. Mahesh Fernando
071 5341832

Proctor:

arpc-udayakumara Mr. A.R.P.C. Udayakumara
071 8569440

  Deputy Proctors:

Name Department Email Mobile
ravindra-s-de-silvaDr. Ravindra Silva Department of Computer Science ravi@sjp.ac.lk 077 7464000

tharindu-senapathi Dr. Tharindu Senapathi

Department of Chemistry tharindunuwan@sjp.ac.lk 071 7385385

 Dr. Madhura Jayasinghe

Department of Food Science and Technology madhura@sci.sjp.ac.lk 071 6255690

Dr. Chathuranga Vidanage

Department of Mathematics Chathurangav7@yahoo.com 071 8483452

University Medical Officer: 011 2803199, 011 2758499