Sri Lanka Energy Managers Association (SLEMA)

SLEMA was founded in 1984 for the promotion of efficient and rational use of energy in Sri Lanka and was incorporated by an Act of Parliament in 1994. It is the pioneering organization in the field of energy efficiency in Sri Lanka where the energy management fraternity is linked through SLEMA, making it the common forum for energy managers to share their experiences and expertise. Regional and international energy experts and organizations interact with SLEMA as the pivotal organization in the field of energy efficiency.

SLEMA envisages making 3 annual awards to the best undergraduate students’ research projects in Sri Lankan higher educational institutes carried out in a field related to Energy to recognize and stimulate the research interest encouraging young undergraduates to pursue a career and/or to contribute to the uplifting and broadening the field of energy, in particular in Sri Lanka. The aim of these prestigious awards is to promote & inspire excellence in the study of energy-related disciplines, to recognize and reward talent, and to promote and encourage energy applications in Sri Lanka.


The objective of the awards is to recognize the significant research contributions made by undergraduates in Sri Lankan higher educational institutes to the discipline of energy.

Application Areas of Projects

The sub-disciplines may include the following, but are not limited to:

Energy efficiency, renewable energy, energy policies, energy economics, energy financing, energy technologies, energy physics, energy chemistry, energy accounting & auditing, cross border energy transfer, energy poverty, access to energy, energy conservation, energy storage, energy pricing, marketing energy products, energy humility, energy in transportation, industrial energy, energy transition, energy simulation, IoT based applications, energy management systems, & waste to energy, etc.

Who is eligible to apply?

The award is for undergraduate research projects completed in the final year. Any undergraduate who completed their final year research project during or after the year 2021 from a faculty (or College / School) in Sri Lanka recognized by the University Grants Commission of Sri Lanka under the Universities Act or by the Non State Higher Education Division of the ministry in charge for the subject of Higher Education of Sri Lanka, which are in operation where at least one batch has completed final year projects at the time of Call for Nominations (February 2022) are eligible to apply. One nomination have to be submitted only once i.e., the undergraduate research projects that submitted for previous year award cannot be submitted again.

Number of Entries:

The number of entries from a Faculty (or College / School) is limited to 3. The nominations have to be submitted through the respective Dean of the Faculty (Head of College / School) on the recommendation of the respective Head of the Department / Internal Supervisor.



An abstract of the research project not exceeding 2 (A4) pages indicating the project aim, approach, key findings, and the potential impacts of the key findings to society has to be submitted to the SLEMA electronically by the deadline, along with the duly filled prescribed Application / Abstract Submission Form (Download the application form>>). The attributes given under the ‘selection criteria’ below should be emphasized in the Abstract.

Number of Awards

SLEMA shall make 3 annual awards of excellence as follows

  • Winner of the Year (Award of Excellence for the most outstanding research project)
  • Runners-up (Merit Awards of the next 2 top ranked research projects)


  • Winner and Runners-up are expected to be awarded very attractive cash prizes
  • Winner, Runners-up and the next 12 outstanding research projects shall be presented with certificates

Selection criteria

The selection criteria shall give weight to the following attributes of the research

  • Relevance and originality
  • Critical thinking and innovativeness
  • Impact on the society, and its wider applicability
  • Clarity of expression
  • Contribution to the research discipline
  • Level of challenging the status quo (business as usual)
  • Use of principles
  • Optimum use of resources

The selection shall be carried out by an eminent panel of judges appointed by the SLEMA

Stage 1:

Particular number of applicants shall be shortlisted based on submitted abstract

Stage 2:

The shortlisted applicants shall present their work to the evaluation committee appointed by SLEMA. The mode and detail of final presentation will be informed to the shortlisted candidates in due course.


The deadline for this call of applications shall be April 28, 2023

Awards Ceremony

The shortlisted 3 winners may be invited to make a 10-minute presentation (project leaders) or present a poster at the Annual Sessions of the SLEMA, usually held on the last Friday of July every year, and the awards may be presented at the Annual Sessions.

Resolution of discrepancies if any

The decision of the SLEMA shall be final


Research Publications in the SLEMA Journal

The researchers have a window to publish their energy related research in the open access SLEMA Journal (

For details, please visit or write to